top of page

The Cups- 14 Cards

tarot card image
Art by Seth Singer

The Cups suit is one of the four suits in a standard Tarot deck, along with Swords, Pentacles, and Wands. Cups are often associated with emotions, relationships, intuition, and matters of the heart. In a typical Tarot deck, the Cups suit consists of 14 cards, starting with the Ace and progressing through the numbered cards (Two through Ten) and the Court Cards (Page, Knight, Queen, and King).

Here's an overview of the Cups Tarot cards and their general meanings:

  1. Ace of Cups: The Ace of Cups represents new beginnings, particularly in the realm of emotions and relationships. It signifies love, emotional clarity, and the potential for deep emotional fulfillment.

  2. Two of Cups: This card often signifies a harmonious partnership, romantic or otherwise. It represents balance, connection, and mutual attraction between two individuals.

  3. Three of Cups: The Three of Cups is a card of celebration and joy. It symbolizes coming together with friends or loved ones to celebrate achievements or life events.

  4. Four of Cups: This card suggests introspection and contemplation. It can indicate a need to take a step back and reassess one's emotions and relationships.

  5. Five of Cups: The Five of Cups represents disappointment and loss. It indicates sadness and grief but also encourages looking beyond the immediate pain to find hope and new opportunities.

  6. Six of Cups: This card is associated with nostalgia and memories from the past. It can signify a return to childhood innocence or revisiting old connections.

  7. Seven of Cups: The Seven of Cups represents choices and illusions. It suggests a need to make decisions, but caution against being overwhelmed by unrealistic fantasies.

  8. Eight of Cups: This card signifies leaving behind something that was once emotionally fulfilling but no longer serves you. It's about seeking a deeper sense of purpose.

  9. Nine of Cups: Known as the "Wish Card," the Nine of Cups represents emotional satisfaction, contentment, and the fulfillment of desires.

  10. Ten of Cups: The Ten of Cups is the ultimate card of emotional fulfillment and happiness in relationships. It represents harmony, love, and a blissful family life.

  11. Page of Cups: The Page of Cups represents a youthful and open-hearted approach to emotions. It can indicate the start of a new emotional journey or the arrival of a message related to emotions.

  12. Knight of Cups: The Knight of Cups is a romantic and idealistic figure. It symbolizes pursuit of love and emotions with passion and creativity.

  13. Queen of Cups: The Queen of Cups embodies emotional intuition and nurturing qualities. She represents a mature and empathetic individual.

  14. King of Cups: The King of Cups is a wise and compassionate leader who has mastery over his emotions. He signifies emotional stability and maturity.

In Tarot readings, the specific meanings of these cards can be influenced by their positions in a spread and the surrounding cards. Additionally, the interpretation of the Cups cards can vary depending on the Tarot reader's intuition and the context of the reading.


bottom of page